Feeds:
Posts
Comments

Archive for March 14th, 2010

Woke up today and expected to see Noah and animals in pairs outside my window.  To my surprise, the rain had pretty much stopped and I was spared from another day in the gym and another spin class.  Although spin is better than toiling away on the eliptical, it still does not come close to the feeling of getting outdoors and running.

So I grabbed a quick bite and headed out for my first run in Central Park since the January Manhattan Half-Marathon.  I got to 72nd street and Amsterdam and immediately found a bunch of parking spaces.  That’s the beauty of running in Central Park on Sunday mornings…for some reason, it’s super easy to find parking.  Oh, and it’s free.

I began with my warm up of walking lunges, calf raises and some hamstring work before the run.  My old trainer gave me some dynamic moves to loosen up instead of static stretching.  Seems to work.  I was so excited to start my run…

Well…that is until I actually started to run.  I guess I had some things going against me on this particular morning.  1)  Took a long spin class yesterday, 2) drank a wee too much Grey Goose 3) I am just a little thicker than when I was running my best.  But alas, I was running.  The first three miles were understandably slow and tiresome based upon the above.  After a little while, I was feeling better and started to kick it in on the big hill on the back.  Definitely the last three miles went much better.  All and all a pretty good run.  6 miles in 55:18 or 9:13 per mile.  I left my garmin at home but used the stopwatch on the iPhone for my time.

The best news of all is that my knee is very much OK and ready for me to be back full force.  I still want to be careful but I since I ran 14 miles last week, I can hit 17 or so this week.

OK.  Have a good week

TFR

Read Full Post »